In accordance with the provision of the gift of Maria Cary establishing a public library in Lexington, the Board of Library Trustees consists of "the Selectmen, and the School Committee of the Town for the time being and the settled ministers of the place."

The Board of Library Trustees oversees the financial affairs, trust funds, fundraising activities and sets the policy for the operation of the Library. Further details can be found in the Board of Trustees Bylaws.

The Trustees elect a five-member Executive Committee to oversee the financial and day-to-day operations of the Library. The Executive Committee consists of two officers of the Board of Library Trustees and three other Trustees. The Clergy, the Select Board, and the School Committee have at least one representative on the Committee. The Executive Committee has full power to act in all matters for the Board of Trustees.

Executive Committee:

  • Jill Hai, Chair of the Library Trustees, Select Board Member
  • Eileen Jay, Vice Chair of the Library Trustees, School Committee
  • Suzie Barry, Select Board Member
  • Rev. Barbara Callaghan, Clergy
  • Rabbi Karen Thomashow, Clergy

Contact The Trustees

Meeting Dates

Executive Committee:

Usually meets on the first Wednesday of the month at 12:00 PM virutally on Zoom. Agendas for each meeting are posted on the Town's Calendar of Public Meetings.

  • September 4, 2024
  • November 6, 2024
  • December 4, 2024
  • January 8, 2025
  • March 5, 2025
  • April 2, 2025
  • June 4, 2025

Full Board: 

Meets 3 times a year (or as needed) on Wednesdays at 12:00 PM virtually on Zoom.  Agendas for each meeting are posted on the Town's Calendar of Public Meetings.

  • October 16, 2024
  • February 19, 2025
  • May 21, 2025