About Online Resources

Information about Online Resources

Cary Library, the Minuteman Library Network, and the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners provide you with access to dozens of databases. All databases are available for use in the library. You can access many of these resources from home with your library card. Items followed by an asterisk (*) can be accessed from home only by Lexington residents.

Get started using the databases by selecting a topic, searching the resources in the search box above, or by using the PowerSearch or Full Text Finder.

Want more digital content?  Get a Boston Public Library eCard for access to BPL's extensive list of downloadable content (including eBooks, eAudiobooks, eMagazines, downloadable music and movies) as well as their online databases. Anyone who lives, works, attends school, or owns property in Massachusetts is eligible.

Art & Music

Creativebug

Over 1,000 online art and craft classes to indulge your creative bug, covering a range of subjects from paper and fiber arts to jewelry and food. Also offers ideas for home decorating and holiday planning. Includes classes for kids, too! View a video tutorial on how to use Creativebug.

Fine Arts (Gale OneFile)

With more than 100 full-text magazines and journals covered in databases such as the Wilson Art Index and RILM, this collection will provide your students with resources to support research in areas such as drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.

Gale eBooks - Fashion, Costume, and Culture*

Provides facts and information about the cultural, religious, and social implications of human decoration and adornment throughout history, with a particular emphasis on the decades of the 20th century. In 500 entries, detailed information about clothing, hairstyles, tattoos, jewelry, body piercing, feet binding, and other types of fashion or style is examined. Entries explain the fashion or style within the context of the traditions, customs, rituals, and practices.

Grove Encyclopedia of American Art*

Deals with all aspects of American art and architecture from Native American art to Colonial art to contemporary American art.

JSTOR*

An online archive of full-text scholarly articles in the humanities and social sciences. Although it does not include the most current issues of journals, this is a reliable resource for academic articles in the fields of history, ethnic studies, political science and more.

Naxos Jazz Library

Naxos Jazz Library offers a wide range of jazz music, from jazz legends to contemporary jazz. View a video tutorial on how to use Naxos Music Library.

Naxos Music Library

Naxos Music Library is an online streaming audio collection of classical music and includes information about composers, music terminology, and other educational selections. View a video tutorial on how to use Naxos Music Library.

Books & Literature

Biography (Gale In Context)

Combines award-winning biographies from respected Gale Group sources. Biography Resource Center also includes full-text articles from hundreds of periodicals.

BookFlix

Scholastic BookFlix is a new interactive literacy resource that builds a love of reading and learning - online! BookFlix pairs classic fictional video storybooks from Weston Woods with nonfiction eBooks from Scholastic to reinforce reading skills and develop essential real-world knowledge and understanding.

Gale Literature Resource Center

Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.

Hoopla Digital Collection

Hoopla offers a broad selection of streaming and downloadable media in your browser or through the Hoopla app for your mobile device. Borrow up to 3 items per calendar month without needing to put anything on hold. View a video tutorial on how to use Hoopla.

NoveList

NoveList is an electronic readers' advisory resource which assists fiction readers in finding new authors and titles.

O'Reilly*

In addition to O’Reilly’s highly recognized line of computer resources (includes early access to forthcoming titles), access titles on travel, business negotiation, financials, management, and more from nearly 200 publishers and 30,000 hours of video.

OverDrive

Provides popular audiobooks, eBooks, music, and videos available for users to download.

Oxford English Dictionary (OED)

Search the Oxford English Dictionary online for the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past, and includes Historical Thesaurus.

WorldCat

WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content.

Business & Investing

Business (Gale OneFile)

Business Collection provides coverage of all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice. Users will understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through business and trade publications, complemented by a selection of international, U.S., and regional news publications.

Business Insights: Global*

A fully integrated resource bringing together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals.

Communications and Mass Media (Gale OneFile)

This collection provides current and accurate information from more than 100 journals focused on all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects covered include: marketing, advertising and public relations, literature and writing, linguistics, and many more.

Economics and Theory (Gale OneFile)

This collection provides academic journals and magazines focusing on topics in economics. Perfect for business classes, users will find more than 150 full-text journals to support their research.

Entrepreneurship (Gale Business)

Perfect for business school students and entrepreneurs, this compilation provides insights, tips, strategies and success stories.

 

Gale eCommerce Sourcebook*

Combines a variety of information including approximately 100 how-to topical entries covering the most commonly asked questions relating to ecommerce. Topics include how to write business and marketing plans, secure financing, and evaluate candidates for designing a website. Covers directory listings of approximately 4,700 associations, consultants, and other organizations related to ecommerce as well as the top 250 leading ecommerce companies worldwide.

Hospitality and Tourism (Gale OneFile)

This collection provides well-rounded coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism field, while also allowing for focused study of specialized aspects of the industry.

Insurance and Liability (Gale OneFile)

This collection, comprised of nearly 40 insurance-related journals, takes a broad view of this multimillion dollar industry, covering such topics as labor relations, mortgage banking, legal issues, and more.

 

Morningstar*

Get comprehensive financial information on stocks, mutual funds, exchange-traded funds, and investment indexes.

Reference Solutions*

Reference Solutions has vital information on every business & consumer in the United States & Canada.  It assists business executives in finding valuable sales leads, conducting market research or competitive analysis, and provides an avenue for businesses to do effective marketing & outreach.  Students are able to reference this data for research projects and job seekers may find gainful employment.  Reference Solutions provides data on businesses, consumers, healthcare providers, new movers & homeowners, as well as historical business information.

Value Line Research Center*

The Value Line Research Center includes on-line access to Value Line's leading publications covering stocks, mutual funds, options and convertible securities as well as special situation stocks.

Wall Street Journal*

Search or browse the full text of the Wall Street Journal from 1984-present.

Career & Test Prep

Information Science (Gale OneFile)

Articles on the information and library science profession and related topics.

Occupational Outlook Handbook

The Federal Government’s premier source of career guidance featuring hundreds of occupations — both blue-collar and white-collar — from carpenters, firefighters and sports referees to teachers, medical professions, personal financial advisers, and even multimedia designers and scientists.

Peterson's Test and Career Prep*

Use this database to search thousands of college and graduate school entries. Identify scholarships that meet their financial needs. Take on-line practice tests and use test prep eBooks to obtain your education goals, and build your resume with Resume Builder.

USAJOBS From the U.S. Office of Personnel Management

USAJOBS is the official job site for the U.S. federal government.  Most federal civilian jobs (with the exception of jobs in the federal judiciary and jobs in the diplomatic corps) are posted on USAJOBS.

Vocations and Careers (Gale OneFile)

Offering content from nearly 400 journals, this collection provides content from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.

Children

Biography (Gale In Context)

Combines award-winning biographies from respected Gale Group sources. Biography Resource Center also includes full-text articles from hundreds of periodicals.

BookFlix

Scholastic BookFlix is a new interactive literacy resource that builds a love of reading and learning - online! BookFlix pairs classic fictional video storybooks from Weston Woods with nonfiction eBooks from Scholastic to reinforce reading skills and develop essential real-world knowledge and understanding.

Britannica Escolar

Enciclopedia K-8 para hablantes nativos y estudiantes que aprenden español / K-8 encyclopedia for native speakers and students learning Spanish.

Britannica Learning Zone

Britannica Learning Zone is a mix of traditional and modern learning tools comprising of the best titles available in print, CD/DVD, e-books, and online formats. This unique offering caters to students and teachers of all three levels: Primary, Middle, and Senior levels.

Britannica Library

Britannica Online Public Library Edition contains 4 full encyclopedias, the Encyclopædia Britannica, Compton's by Britannica, Britannica Elementary Encyclopedia, and Britannica Concise Encyclopedia each covering the research needs of a different age group. Along with this encyclopedia content, Public Library Edition contains full-text magazine articles, Web sites that have been reviewed and verified by Britannica editors, a homework help section for students, a world atlas, Merriam-Webster dictionaries and thesauri for children and adults, a Spanish-English dictionary, video and audio content, daily content updates, and more.

Britannica School

Elementary, Middle and High School levels, plus read-aloud al all levels and translation for over 50 languages. Britannica Online School Edition gives teachers and students instant access to four complete encyclopedias and other resources that ensure consistency with classroom topics and age-appropriate language. This unique reference and learning suite also offers high-quality online learning materials that have been developed by teachers and curriculum experts. Designed for all levels of learning from elementary school through high school, Britannica Online School Edition offers students an easy-to-use gateway to the vast resources of Encyclopædia Britannica.

 

Elementary (Gale In Context) - formerly Kids InfoBits

Targets the research needs of students in Kindergarten-Grade 5. It features a developmentally appropriate and visual graphic interface, a subject-based topic tree search and full-text, age-appropriate, curriculum-related magazine and reference content.

High School Edition (Gale OneFile)

Find information on high school research topics plus pop culture, sports, and more the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.

Hoopla Digital Collection

Hoopla offers a broad selection of streaming and downloadable media in your browser or through the Hoopla app for your mobile device. Borrow up to 3 items per calendar month without needing to put anything on hold. View a video tutorial on how to use Hoopla.

Kanopy Digital Collection

Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service that offers more than 30,000 documentaries, classic and independent films. Borrow up to 3 titles each calendar month to watch on a mobile device or streaming TV service. View a video tutorial on how to use Kanopy.

Mango Languages*

Mango is designed to equip you with conversational skills from the very start. Whether you're learning how to order a pizza or ask when the game starts, Mango immerses you in real, everyday conversations in 60+ different language courses. English as a Second Language (ESL) courses are taught in fifteen different languages.

Middle School (Gale In Context)

Research in Context covers the most-studied topics in literature, science, social studies, and U.S. and world history, as well as the social issues most relevant to middle school (grades 6-8) students.

OverDrive

Provides popular audiobooks, eBooks, music, and videos available for users to download.

Science (Gale In Context)

Stay current on the latest scientific developments with this collection of 200 journal in the sciences, including such topics as particle physics and quantum theory, advanced mathematics, biotechnology, and many more. Articles are updated daily.http://libraries.state.ma.us/login?db=SCIC&locid=lex

TrueFlix*

TrueFlix™ is the only online resource that leverages the award-winning True Books content to help students hone literacy skills, build knowledge of subject-area content, and cultivate 21st Century skills through the inquiry process.

Computers

Computer Sciences-Macmillan*

Reviews the history of computer science, discusses concepts, and profiles contributors in the field. Also explores the impact of computers on society, with examples in literature and film to illustrate and support trends. Includes illustrations, sidebars, bibliographies, filmographies, timelines, charts, and a glossary. For general audiences.

 

O'Reilly*

In addition to O’Reilly’s highly recognized line of computer resources (includes early access to forthcoming titles), access titles on travel, business negotiation, financials, management, and more from nearly 200 publishers and 30,000 hours of video.

Consumer

Consumer Reports Online*

Consumer Reports is known as one of the most trusted resources for information and advice on consumer products.

Home Improvement (Gale OneFile)

Even the smallest home improvement project can be daunting: with this collection of nearly 100 home improvement focused titles, hobbyists and professional carpenters alike will immediately put their projects on a more solid foundation. Coverage includes such topics as architectural techniques, tool and material selection, zoning requirements, and many more.

Insurance and Liability (Gale OneFile)

This collection, comprised of nearly 40 insurance-related journals, takes a broad view of this multimillion dollar industry, covering such topics as labor relations, mortgage banking, legal issues, and more.

 

eBooks and Digital Media

BookFlix

Scholastic BookFlix is a new interactive literacy resource that builds a love of reading and learning - online! BookFlix pairs classic fictional video storybooks from Weston Woods with nonfiction eBooks from Scholastic to reinforce reading skills and develop essential real-world knowledge and understanding.

Boston Public Library

Still want more digital content? Get a Boston Public Library eCard for access to BPL's extensive list of downloadable content (including eBooks, eAudiobooks, eMagazines, downloadable music and movies) as well as their online databases. Anyone who lives, works, attends school, or owns property in Massachusetts is eligible.

 

Gale Virtual Reference Library

The Gale Virtual Reference Library gives you 24/7 access to full-text titles in PDF format including almanacs and specialized reference sources, perfect for students needing "print" resouces. Sources may be searched individually or together.

Hoopla Digital Collection

Hoopla offers a broad selection of streaming and downloadable media in your browser or through the Hoopla app for your mobile device. Borrow up to 3 items per calendar month without needing to put anything on hold. View a video tutorial on how to use Hoopla.

Kanopy Digital Collection

Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service that offers more than 30,000 documentaries, classic and independent films. Borrow up to 3 titles each calendar month to watch on a mobile device or streaming TV service. View a video tutorial on how to use Kanopy.

Libby from OverDrive

Download digital books, audiobooks, and magazines for free using the Libby App from OverDrive. Libby is available for Android, iOS, Windows 10, some Chromebooks, and in your browser. View a video tutorial on how to use Libby.

Naxos Jazz Library

Naxos Jazz Library offers a wide range of jazz music, from jazz legends to contemporary jazz. View a video tutorial on how to use Naxos Music Library.

Naxos Music Library

Naxos Music Library is an online streaming audio collection of classical music and includes information about composers, music terminology, and other educational selections. View a video tutorial on how to use Naxos Music Library.

O'Reilly*

In addition to O’Reilly’s highly recognized line of computer resources (includes early access to forthcoming titles), access titles on travel, business negotiation, financials, management, and more from nearly 200 publishers and 30,000 hours of video.

OverDrive

Provides popular audiobooks, eBooks, music, and videos available for users to download.

TrueFlix*

TrueFlix™ is the only online resource that leverages the award-winning True Books content to help students hone literacy skills, build knowledge of subject-area content, and cultivate 21st Century skills through the inquiry process.

Education

Educator's Reference Complete (Gale OneFile)

A collection of more than 1,100 periodicals and 200 reports (most full-text) focusing on all levels of education, educational administration and policy.

Information Science (Gale OneFile)

Articles on the information and library science profession and related topics.

Peterson's Test and Career Prep*

Use this database to search thousands of college and graduate school entries. Identify scholarships that meet their financial needs. Take on-line practice tests and use test prep eBooks to obtain your education goals, and build your resume with Resume Builder.

Encyclopedias & Reference

Academic OneFile (Gale)

Contains 8,000 academic journals, the majority in full-text, available in HTML and PDF formats. In addition it contains hundreds of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and the CBC, as well as full-text New York Times content from 1985.

Academic OneFile Select (Gale)

From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Access scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers - with full text and images!

Biography (Gale In Context)

Combines award-winning biographies from respected Gale Group sources. Biography Resource Center also includes full-text articles from hundreds of periodicals.

Bowling, Beatniks and Bellbottoms*

Covers the popular culture of the 20th Century and first decade of the 21st Century. Provides a cross-disciplinary source for junior and high school students and teachers, public librarians and general researchers who need a single, consistent reference to explore and analyze the social trends, events, and people that have impacted contemporary history.

Britannica Escolar

Enciclopedia K-8 para hablantes nativos y estudiantes que aprenden español / K-8 encyclopedia for native speakers and students learning Spanish.

Britannica Learning Zone

Britannica Learning Zone is a mix of traditional and modern learning tools comprising of the best titles available in print, CD/DVD, e-books, and online formats. This unique offering caters to students and teachers of all three levels: Primary, Middle, and Senior levels.

Britannica Library

Britannica Online Public Library Edition contains 4 full encyclopedias, the Encyclopædia Britannica, Compton's by Britannica, Britannica Elementary Encyclopedia, and Britannica Concise Encyclopedia each covering the research needs of a different age group. Along with this encyclopedia content, Public Library Edition contains full-text magazine articles, Web sites that have been reviewed and verified by Britannica editors, a homework help section for students, a world atlas, Merriam-Webster dictionaries and thesauri for children and adults, a Spanish-English dictionary, video and audio content, daily content updates, and more.

Britannica School

Elementary, Middle and High School levels, plus read-aloud al all levels and translation for over 50 languages. Britannica Online School Edition gives teachers and students instant access to four complete encyclopedias and other resources that ensure consistency with classroom topics and age-appropriate language. This unique reference and learning suite also offers high-quality online learning materials that have been developed by teachers and curriculum experts. Designed for all levels of learning from elementary school through high school, Britannica Online School Edition offers students an easy-to-use gateway to the vast resources of Encyclopædia Britannica.

 

Encyclopedia Judaica*

Updated edition of this work on Judaism features more than 21,000 entries on Jewish life, culture, history, and religion, written by Israeli, American and European subject specialists.e

Grove Encyclopedia of American Art*

Deals with all aspects of American art and architecture from Native American art to Colonial art to contemporary American art.

High School Edition (Gale OneFile)

Find information on high school research topics plus pop culture, sports, and more the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.

Oxford English Dictionary (OED)

Search the Oxford English Dictionary online for the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past, and includes Historical Thesaurus.

Power Search (Gale)

Want to go big? Search all Gale resources at once with PowerSearch. Create a simple or advanced query to search all the journals, magazines, primary sources, and reference resources provided Gale, or select which databases to search. The database from which each document is found appears as part of the search results.

Reference Solutions*

Reference Solutions has vital information on every business & consumer in the United States & Canada.  It assists business executives in finding valuable sales leads, conducting market research or competitive analysis, and provides an avenue for businesses to do effective marketing & outreach.  Students are able to reference this data for research projects and job seekers may find gainful employment.  Reference Solutions provides data on businesses, consumers, healthcare providers, new movers & homeowners, as well as historical business information.

Religion and Philosophy (Gale OneFile)

Research religions and philosophies of the world and how they impact our daily lives. This collection includes 250 journals relating to spirituality and ideas.

WorldCat

WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content.

Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations*

Presents easy-to-understand information on 194 countries and dependencies from around the world. Entries discuss a variety of topics in detail, from banking and securities to climate, from government data to demographic statistics. Also includes biographical essays on national leaders.

Health & Medical

Agriculture (Gale OneFile)

Articles on farming, horticulture, and agriculture-related fields from nearly 200 authoritative journal titles.

Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile)

Use this database to find articles on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health & Safety, Alcohol and Drug Abuse, HMOs, Prescription Drugs, etc.

Health and Wellness (Gale)

Use this database to find articles & pamphlets on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health & Safety, Alcohol and Drug Abuse, HMOs, Prescription Drugs, etc.

Nursing and Allied Health (Gale OneFile)

All aspects of the Nursing profession from direct patient care to health care administration are covered in this collection.

 

Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine (Gale OneFile)

This collection includes over 100 titles covering the fields of physical therapy and sports medicine.

Psychology (Gale OneFile)

This collection includes over 100 titles covering the fields of physical therapy and sports medicine.

History & Genealogy

Academic OneFile (Gale)

Contains 8,000 academic journals, the majority in full-text, available in HTML and PDF formats. In addition it contains hundreds of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and the CBC, as well as full-text New York Times content from 1985.

Academic OneFile Select (Gale)

From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Access scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers - with full text and images!

American Ancestors* (Remote access)

Dozens of genealogical databases from the New England Historic Genealogical Society, including full text of the New England Historical and Genealogical Record, The Search for Missing Friends, and Massachusetts Vital Records 1841-1910.

Ancestry Library* (Remote access)

Thousands of family history databases, including vital records, census records, ship passenger lists, military records and lots more! (Access to this resource has been temporarily expanded to library cardholders working remotely, courtesy of ProQuest and its partner Ancestry.)

Black Freedom Database

This website, provided free of charge by ProQuest, focuses on Black Freedom, featuring select primary source documents related to critical people and events in African American history. By centering on the experiences and perspectives of African Americans, we hope this collection imbues the study of Black history with a deeper understanding of the humanity of people who have pursued the quest for freedom, and the significance of movements like Black Lives Matter.

Bowling, Beatniks and Bellbottoms*

Covers the popular culture of the 20th Century and first decade of the 21st Century. Provides a cross-disciplinary source for junior and high school students and teachers, public librarians and general researchers who need a single, consistent reference to explore and analyze the social trends, events, and people that have impacted contemporary history.

Digital Commonwealth

Digital Commonwealth is the statewide digital repository for Massachusetts, providing resources and services to support the creation, management, and dissemination of cultural heritage materials held by libraries, museums, historical societies, and archives. Digital Commonwealth’s mission is to provide access to thousands of images, documents, and sound recordings that have been digitized by member institutions so that they may be available to researchers, students, and the general public. Free digitization services are provided by the Boston Public Library as part of the Library for the Commonwealth program. Digital Commonwealth is also the state hub to the Digital Public Library of America.

FamilySearch

Discover your family history. Explore the world's largest collection of free family trees, genealogy records and resources.

Gale eBooks - Fashion, Costume, and Culture*

Provides facts and information about the cultural, religious, and social implications of human decoration and adornment throughout history, with a particular emphasis on the decades of the 20th century. In 500 entries, detailed information about clothing, hairstyles, tattoos, jewelry, body piercing, feet binding, and other types of fashion or style is examined. Entries explain the fashion or style within the context of the traditions, customs, rituals, and practices.

Global Issues (Gale In Context)

Offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events.

Heritage Quest Online

A digital resource that combines searchable images of U.S. federal genealogical census records with digitized books containing family and local histories from around the country. It includes 25,000 family and local history books, U.S. census records, and PERSI, an index of over 1.6 million genealogy and local history articles.

JSTOR*

An online archive of full-text scholarly articles in the humanities and social sciences. Although it does not include the most current issues of journals, this is a reliable resource for academic articles in the fields of history, ethnic studies, political science and more.

Lexington High School Yearbooks

In collaboration with the Lexington High School Library and the Lexington Historical Society, we have digitized yearbooks from 1935 on.  This collection was digitized through the Boston Public Library's Library for the Commonwealth program.

Military and Intelligence (Gale OneFile)

Find articles on governmental policies, socioeconomics effects of war, and more. Includes The Columbia Electronic Encyclopedia and The World Almanac and Book of Facts.

U.S. History (Gale In Context)

An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History.

War and Terrorism (Gale OneFile)

A definitive collection for students of history, social science and current events. Gain valuable insight the causes, impacts and perceptions of war and terrorism on a global scale. References include 100 full-text periodicals on the subject.

World History (Gale In Context)

An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History.

Home & Garden

Birds of the World*

A comprehensive reference from The Cornell Lab of Ornithology covering the life histories, habits, and habitats of birds around the globe.

Creativebug

Over 1,000 online art and craft classes to indulge your creative bug, covering a range of subjects from paper and fiber arts to jewelry and food. Also offers ideas for home decorating and holiday planning. Includes classes for kids, too! View a video tutorial on how to use Creativebug.

Culinary Arts (Gale OneFile)

150 of the major cooking and nutrition magazines from 1980 to present.

Gardening and Horticulture (Gale OneFile)

A collection of more than 80 journals focused on key issues in gardening, landscaping, and other areas of horticulture.

Home Improvement (Gale OneFile)

Even the smallest home improvement project can be daunting: with this collection of nearly 100 home improvement focused titles, hobbyists and professional carpenters alike will immediately put their projects on a more solid foundation. Coverage includes such topics as architectural techniques, tool and material selection, zoning requirements, and many more.

Languages

Britannica Escolar

Enciclopedia K-8 para hablantes nativos y estudiantes que aprenden español / K-8 encyclopedia for native speakers and students learning Spanish.

Mango Languages*

Mango is designed to equip you with conversational skills from the very start. Whether you're learning how to order a pizza or ask when the game starts, Mango immerses you in real, everyday conversations in 60+ different language courses. English as a Second Language (ESL) courses are taught in fifteen different languages.

Law

Criminal Justice (Gale OneFile)

Focuses on all aspects of the criminal justice field.

Insurance and Liability (Gale OneFile)

This collection, comprised of nearly 40 insurance-related journals, takes a broad view of this multimillion dollar industry, covering such topics as labor relations, mortgage banking, legal issues, and more.

 

Magazines & Journals

Academic OneFile (Gale)

Contains 8,000 academic journals, the majority in full-text, available in HTML and PDF formats. In addition it contains hundreds of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and the CBC, as well as full-text New York Times content from 1985.

Academic OneFile Select (Gale)

From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Access scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers - with full text and images!

Culinary Arts (Gale OneFile)

150 of the major cooking and nutrition magazines from 1980 to present.

General OneFile (Gale)

A one-stop source for news and periodical articles, including most of the content across all Thomson/Gale databases. OneFile contains over 5,000 full-text periodical titles, and more than 9,200 titles in all, on a wide range of topics.

JSTOR*

An online archive of full-text scholarly articles in the humanities and social sciences. Although it does not include the most current issues of journals, this is a reliable resource for academic articles in the fields of history, ethnic studies, political science and more.

Popular Magazines (Gale OneFile)

Popular Magazines includes 1000 of the most searched magazines across our InfoTrac product line. All the titles were selected based on the actual publication searches performed by library patrons.

Power Search (Gale)

Want to go big? Search all Gale resources at once with PowerSearch. Create a simple or advanced query to search all the journals, magazines, primary sources, and reference resources provided Gale, or select which databases to search. The database from which each document is found appears as part of the search results.

Newspapers & Current Events

Boston Globe - Historical 1872-1989*

The Boston Globe (1872-1960) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.

Boston Globe 1980-Present

Full text access to the current editions of the Boston Globe.

Global Issues (Gale In Context)

Offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events.

Lexington Minuteman Newspaper

Full page and article images and searchable full text from the Lexington Minuteman and other historical Lexington newspapers.

  • Remote Access - search up to 1974 available for researchers anywhere
  • In Library Access - search up to 2005 (for researchers at the Library)
  • Newsbank* Access - search 2005-present, text only (remote access restricted to Lexington residents)

News (Gale OneFile)

InfoTrac Newsstand provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world.

NewsBank /Lexington Minuteman*

Full text news articles from international, national, and local sources including the Lexington Minuteman (2005-present).

New York Times, Historical (1851 to present minus 3 years)*

The New York Times with full page and article images and searchable full text back to the first issue.

New York Times, Magazine, Book Review

The New York Times Newspaper, Magazine and Book Review.

 

New York Times 1985 to Present

The New York Times from 1985-present.

 

New York Times NYTimes.com (home access)

Enjoy free access to New York Times NYTimes.com. For both in-library and home access, create an account and log in using that account. Coverage includes 1981 to Current, plus historic coverage 1851-1922. Home Access includes NY Times App and 5 Premium Archive (1923-1980) articles per day. Access is provided in 3-day increments. After 3 days, log in again with same account information for another 3-day pass.  For more information see Minuteman's NY Times FAQ.

New York Times NYTimes.com (in library use)

Enjoy free access to New York Times NYTimes.com. For both in-library and home access, create an account and log in using that account. Coverage includes 1981 to Current, plus historic coverage 1851-1922. Home Access includes NY Times App and 5 Premium Archive (1923-1980) articles per day. For more information see Minuteman's NY Times FAQ.

Wall Street Journal*

Search or browse the full text of the Wall Street Journal from 1984-present.

Washington Post Online (home access)*

Digital access to breaking news and analysis on politics, business, world national news, entertainment, and more from The Washington Post. Access is provided in 7-day increments. After 7 days, log in again with same account information for another 7-day pass. 

World History (Gale In Context)

An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History.

Science & Nature

Agriculture (Gale OneFile)

Articles on farming, horticulture, and agriculture-related fields from nearly 200 authoritative journal titles.

Birds of the World*

A comprehensive reference from The Cornell Lab of Ornithology covering the life histories, habits, and habitats of birds around the globe.

Computer Sciences-Macmillan*

Reviews the history of computer science, discusses concepts, and profiles contributors in the field. Also explores the impact of computers on society, with examples in literature and film to illustrate and support trends. Includes illustrations, sidebars, bibliographies, filmographies, timelines, charts, and a glossary. For general audiences.

 

Environmental Studies and Policy (Gale OneFile)

Providing robust coverage of the field of environmental issues and policy.

Gardening and Horticulture (Gale OneFile)

A collection of more than 80 journals focused on key issues in gardening, landscaping, and other areas of horticulture.

Science (Gale In Context)

Stay current on the latest scientific developments with this collection of 200 journal in the sciences, including such topics as particle physics and quantum theory, advanced mathematics, biotechnology, and many more. Articles are updated daily.http://libraries.state.ma.us/login?db=SCIC&locid=lex

Social Justice

Black Freedom Database

This website, provided free of charge by ProQuest, focuses on Black Freedom, featuring select primary source documents related to critical people and events in African American history. By centering on the experiences and perspectives of African Americans, we hope this collection imbues the study of Black history with a deeper understanding of the humanity of people who have pursued the quest for freedom, and the significance of movements like Black Lives Matter.

Diversity Studies (Gale OneFile)

A must-have for social science, history and liberal arts coursework, this collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community. This set includes 150 journals.

Gender Studies (Gale OneFile)

This collection of journals aims to provide balanced coverage of this significant aspect of our culture, covering such topics as gender studies, family and marital issues, health aspects, and many more.

Social Science

Black Freedom Database

This website, provided free of charge by ProQuest, focuses on Black Freedom, featuring select primary source documents related to critical people and events in African American history. By centering on the experiences and perspectives of African Americans, we hope this collection imbues the study of Black history with a deeper understanding of the humanity of people who have pursued the quest for freedom, and the significance of movements like Black Lives Matter.

Bowling, Beatniks and Bellbottoms*

Covers the popular culture of the 20th Century and first decade of the 21st Century. Provides a cross-disciplinary source for junior and high school students and teachers, public librarians and general researchers who need a single, consistent reference to explore and analyze the social trends, events, and people that have impacted contemporary history.

Communications and Mass Media (Gale OneFile)

This collection provides current and accurate information from more than 100 journals focused on all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects covered include: marketing, advertising and public relations, literature and writing, linguistics, and many more.

Diversity Studies (Gale OneFile)

A must-have for social science, history and liberal arts coursework, this collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community. This set includes 150 journals.

Gender Studies (Gale OneFile)

This collection of journals aims to provide balanced coverage of this significant aspect of our culture, covering such topics as gender studies, family and marital issues, health aspects, and many more.

JSTOR*

An online archive of full-text scholarly articles in the humanities and social sciences. Although it does not include the most current issues of journals, this is a reliable resource for academic articles in the fields of history, ethnic studies, political science and more.

Pop Culture Studies (Gale OneFile)

It's all around us and influences our lives every day. This collection provides useful information for any researcher in a social science, history, art or liberal arts course. This collection is made up of 100 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals.

Psychology (Gale OneFile)

This collection includes over 100 titles covering the fields of physical therapy and sports medicine.

War and Terrorism (Gale OneFile)

A definitive collection for students of history, social science and current events. Gain valuable insight the causes, impacts and perceptions of war and terrorism on a global scale. References include 100 full-text periodicals on the subject.

Teens

Biography (Gale In Context)

Combines award-winning biographies from respected Gale Group sources. Biography Resource Center also includes full-text articles from hundreds of periodicals.

Britannica School

Elementary, Middle and High School levels, plus read-aloud al all levels and translation for over 50 languages. Britannica Online School Edition gives teachers and students instant access to four complete encyclopedias and other resources that ensure consistency with classroom topics and age-appropriate language. This unique reference and learning suite also offers high-quality online learning materials that have been developed by teachers and curriculum experts. Designed for all levels of learning from elementary school through high school, Britannica Online School Edition offers students an easy-to-use gateway to the vast resources of Encyclopædia Britannica.

 

Gale Literature Resource Center

Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.

Global Issues (Gale In Context)

Offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events.

High School Edition (Gale OneFile)

Find information on high school research topics plus pop culture, sports, and more the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.

Hoopla Digital Collection

Hoopla offers a broad selection of streaming and downloadable media in your browser or through the Hoopla app for your mobile device. Borrow up to 3 items per calendar month without needing to put anything on hold. View a video tutorial on how to use Hoopla.

Mango Languages*

Mango is designed to equip you with conversational skills from the very start. Whether you're learning how to order a pizza or ask when the game starts, Mango immerses you in real, everyday conversations in 60+ different language courses. English as a Second Language (ESL) courses are taught in fifteen different languages.

Middle School (Gale In Context)

Research in Context covers the most-studied topics in literature, science, social studies, and U.S. and world history, as well as the social issues most relevant to middle school (grades 6-8) students.

Science (Gale In Context)

Stay current on the latest scientific developments with this collection of 200 journal in the sciences, including such topics as particle physics and quantum theory, advanced mathematics, biotechnology, and many more. Articles are updated daily.http://libraries.state.ma.us/login?db=SCIC&locid=lex

U.S. History (Gale In Context)

An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History.

World History (Gale In Context)

An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History.

Yearbooks

Lexington High School Yearbooks

In collaboration with the Lexington High School Library and the Lexington Historical Society, we have digitized yearbooks from 1935 on.  This collection was digitized through the Boston Public Library's Library for the Commonwealth program.